The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

The end of my 04 Caravan

5K views 41 replies 16 participants last post by  technician440 
#1 ·
Well at just under 368,000 kms, its time I retire the old van. While the engine and trans are good, everything else around the van is falling apart.

Leaking gas tank, leaking radiator, leaking crank seal, failed headliner, bad Front control module, rotted body and much more...

My mom bought it back in 2008 with 78,000 kms and I've been using it since 2014 as my daily. Unfortunately it will cost too much to keep on the road now.

I have just made the purchase on a 2018 Grand Caravan GT and will be sending the ol van to car heaven. Great vans, did more than I could ask and took all the abuse I could throw at it.

Definitely gonna miss this van. But, nothing lasts forever, especially in the Salt belt.

#3 ·
Good to hear from you, sorry for your loss but happy for your gain. What are you doing these days?

#5 ·
Congrats on the new van. The GTs are nice. Your old '04 served you well.

#6 ·
Well at just under 368,000 kms, its time I retire the old van. While the engine and trans are good, everything else around the van is falling apart.
Could get a good bit for those to help towards paying for the new van. Not a fortune, but a couple thousand.

You'll love the 5th gens.

#7 ·
My mom bought it back in 2008... Unfortunately it will cost too much to keep on the road now.

I have just made the purchase on a 2018 Grand Caravan GT and will be sending the ol van to car heaven.

Definitely gonna miss this van. But, nothing lasts forever, especially in the Salt belt.
Good move.

When a vehicle is not worth to fix it, get rid of it and buy a newer one.

No, you are not going to miss it, believe me.

Some will tell you to strip it before you get rid of it. Unless you have a lot of empty space and want to keep useless parts forever (you will have to throw them away eventually), you are better off to just get rid of it.