The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the so i hope someone will not beat me up too much for a boring usual question.

my van, a Plymouth voyager 3.0 1996 is giving me problems with the cluster.
it is odd and doesn't match anything I've seen so far on the web.
The lights all work but, as soon as i turn on the ignition, the oil temperature gauge and the gas gauge move to half and speedometer never works. This hes been going on for tew months now and i wanted to address it. I took out the cluster to check for a cold solder but it looks good to me and anyhow i resoldered anyway....still did not help.

what else should i check?

i know that i have a relay that sometimes i have to tap on with my foot because it will not allow blinkers to work...figured not biggy looking that still works as of today.

rarefully the cluster works for few minutes comoletely fine but then it goes off again.

any advice would ve greately appreciated
Thank you very much

·
Registered
27 Posts
If my memory serves me correctly, the instrument panel in the 3rd gen suffers from bad solder joints. I think the problem was where the main connector is soldered to the back of the panel.

You have some other problem with a relay that you nudge with you foot? Perhaps there is a problem with the fuse/realy box and that could be the sourse of all your problems. I would address that problem first.

·
Latent car nut
9,199 Posts
The issue can be traced back to the new solder used back in that era to eliminate lead contamination. This issue was very common with the Gen3 vans and 99 times out of 100 can be cured by pulling the panel and "touching" each solder point with a hot solder iron just long enough to reliquify the solder.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4