The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
some time ago my ex girlfriends son tried to steal my van and used a screwdriver on the lock breaking the metal housing and the SKIM module i think its called it goes around the key , so i had to get a new housing and i am a disabled vet who lives on nothing , so i had it towed to the chrysler shop and was given a 1400 dollar quote because they said the PCM/ECM was destroyed and it shocked me so i had them fix the console and put in a cheaper key and a new SKIM module and used cylinder , but i could not even come close to the price on the PCM/ECM so i bought one from a reseller a rebuilt one and put it in properly , it ran well for 2 weeks and all of a sudden it started and stopped and it finney wont even try turning over and i was told its because the SKIM was changed and the original and wheni purchased the new computer it did not include the 4 digit skim code so my question is there a way i can reset the pcm ecm so i can at least drive it to the chrysler shop 50 miles away the tow is 450 and like i said im a 100 percent disabled veteran and i cant even get this fxed for at least 2 months because of the cost to tow it please any suggestions will help

·
fix it if you can
4,971 Posts
Shoulda, woulda coulda just replaced the antenna (loop that goes around the lock cylinder) on the old SKIM (with a junk yard donor SKIM and a soldering iron).

Now you're stuck with inop van because SKIM doesn't recognize the key? and entered lock out.
You can call around to see if there are any mobile automotive locksmiths around, be sure to ask them if they can fix (have tools to work on) your specific model year van.

If you have a second / spare key, you can try that (but the odds are it won't work).

Thank you for your service and good luck.

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
I know you have been dealing with this for months.